An initiative of Earthwatch Institute

Advisory panels

ClimateWatch has been developed with the guidance and support from many scientists and technological experts. This page outlines the current governance structure of ClimateWatch and provides more information on the scientists involved in the program.

Steering Committee

The ClimateWatch steering committee has been formed to oversee the delivery and development of the ClimateWatch objectives, and provide scientific and strategic advice. The current members are:

Dr Linda Beaumont

Linda is a research scientist and lecturer at Macquarie University’s School of Biological Sciences. Her research focusses on the biological impacts of climate change. Much of Linda’s work involves the use of environmental models to assess potential future changes to species distributions. She is also a member of the Earthwatch Scientific Advisory Committee.

Professor David Booth

David is Professor of Marine Ecology at the University of Technology Sydney and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Sydney Institute of Marine Science.  He has research interests in reef fish ecology, climate change and other anthropogenic impacts on fishes and fisheries. David is also on the Earthwatch Scientific Advisory Committee.

Dr Lynda Chambers

Lynda is a zoologist and climatologist based at the Centre for Australian Weather and Climate Research (Australian Bureau of Meteorology). She specialises in climate impact and adaptation research, in particular its interface with Australian flora and fauna. Lynda has been involved with ClimateWatch since its inception.



Dr Marie Keatley

Marie is a plant ecologist at Parks Victoria and The University of Melbourne whose research focuses on phenology. This means she studies the different life stages of plants, such as flowering and fruiting, to understand how these stages influence one another as well as how climate and other factors influence them. Marie is also one of the founders of ClimateWatch.



ClimateWatch Species Advisors

The role of the ClimateWatch Species Advisors is to provide guidance to ClimateWatch on the selection of indicator species, develop the species information available online, and review ClimateWatch data relevant to their species group. The current species advisors are:

Dr Lisa Cawthen mammals

Lisa is a wildlife ecologist working in Tasmania as a researcher, community educator and consultant. Lisa has worked on a range of environmental project but her main research focus has been improving how we manage our forests for wildlife. She recently completed her PhD at the University of Tasmania, researching bats in an effort to conserve them and their habitat.

Dr Lynda Chambers birds

See above

Dr Tim Entwisle plants

Tim is the Director and Chief Executive, Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne and Cranbourne. He is a scientist and scientific communicator with a broad interest in plants, science and gardens. Tim’s research interest is freshwater algae: since 1984, he has described dozens of new species, two new genera and a new family of algae.

Dr Volker Framenau spiders

Volker is one of Australia’s leading arachnologists and has significant research experience in the taxonomy and systematics, population biology and behavioural ecology of spiders and other arachnids. Volker is a Director of Phoenix Environmental Sciences, a Western Australian environmental consulting company that conducts biological surveys for mining and infrastructure projects.

Dr Lisa Gershwin jellies and drifters

Lisa is marine biologist in Tasmania and the Director of the Australian Marine Stinger Advisory Services. She has over 18 years of experience in jellyfish research, and has discovered more than 160 new species. Her recent research has focussed on forecasting the deadly irukandji bloom in tropical Australia. Lisa is also a passionate science writer and communicator.

Dr Curt Jenner – whales

Curt is the Managing Director and Principal Investigator at the Centre for Whale Research, Western Australia. His interests include population biology of humpback whales and blue whales, their migratory pathways, and the relationship of these pathways to oceanographic features.  As a Master Mariner, his strong sailing background has been very useful in these pursuits.

Dr Marie Keatley – plants

See above



Dr Anthony Richardson jellies and drifters

Anthony is marine researcher at CSIRO and a Senior Lecturer at The University of Queensland. He has diverse research interests in marine ecology, climate impacts research and analysis of large datasets using modern data analysis techniques. Anthony’s current research focusses on the effects of environmental variability on marine systems to predict impacts of climate change.

Dr David Schoeman beach invertebrates

Dave is a marine biologist at the University of the Sunshine Coast who researches how marine critters respond to climate change. His research focusses on identifying and quantifying ecological consequences of climate change at scales from the very local to global, and on designing strategies to minimise the loss of ecosystem services.

Associate Professor Steve Smith rocky shore marine

Steve is a marine benthic ecologist based at Southern Cross University’s National Marine Science Centre. He specialises in measuring and monitoring the biodiversity of subtropical marine and estuarine habitats. Steve is particularly interested in molluscs, and how these animals respond to natural and human-induced changes to their environment.

Dr Reid Tingley – reptiles and amphibians

Reid is a Research Fellow in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Environmental Decisions (CEED) at The University of Melbourne. Reid’s research combines field work with lab experiments and statistical modelling to understand how species traits and human activities influence the processes of invasion and extinction in amphibians and reptiles.

Previous Advisors

ClimateWatch has been developed with the assistance and guidance of many other scientists and technological experts. Previous advisors include:

Technological Advisory Panel

Paul Flemons (Australian Museum), Donald Hobern (CSIRO, Atlas of Living Australia), Piers Higgs (Gaia Resources), Bill Wright (Bureau of Meteorology), Lynda Chambers (Bureau of Meteorology), Russ Weakley (Max Design), Peter Houghton (Earthwatch), Andy Donnelly (Earthwatch), Chris Gillies (Earthwatch).

Science Advisory Panel (SAP)

Linda Beaumont (Macquarie University), David Cantrill (Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne), Lynda Chambers (Bureau of Meteorology), Andy Donnelly (Earthwatch), Ian Endersby (Australian Entomology Society), Sue Jenkins (ACF), Marie Keatley (University of Melbourne), Andy Lowe (University of Adelaide), James O'Connor (Birds Australia), Brett Summerell (Royal Botanic Gardens Sydney), Stephen Williams (James Cook University), Dr Elvira Poloczanska (CSIRO), 

Western Australian Science Advisory Panel

Kingsley Dixon (Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority), Rich Weatherill (Earthwatch Australia), Nic Dunlop (Conservation Council WA), Lynda Chambers (Bureau of Meterology Melbourne), Volker Fremenau (WA Museum), Colin Yates (Department of Environment and Conservation), Will Stock (Edith Cowan University), Leonie Valentine (Murdoch University), Kevin Thiele (WA Herbarium), Nicola Mitchell (University of Western Australia), Grant Wardell-Johnson (Curtin University).

Community Engagement Panel (CEP)

Faycal Benabdellaziz (NAB), Lucy Broad (ABC – Climate Sustainability Project), John Eather (KPMG), Tim Entwisle (Royal Botanic Gardens, Sydney), Mark Forstmann (Totem Films), Nick Lee (ABC – Catalyst), Simon Stroud (Dept of Environment and Climate Change, Parks and Wildlife Group), Andy Donnelly (Earthwatch), Sara Davis (Earthwatch), Rachel Maitland (Earthwatch).
Updated October 2014